Pflegeversicherung

Living in Europe, Working in Europe | Entry conditions/visas, Health insurance, Medical care | Germany

Die Pflegeversicherung, die unmittelbar an die Krankenversicherung gekoppelt und automatisch mit dieser abgeschlossen wird, ist Teil der gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Sozialversicherungen. Sie findet ihre Rechtsgrundlage im elften Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB XI). Die Pflegeversicherung hilft den Menschen, die pflegebedürftig und auf fremde Hilfe angewiesen sind. Sie umfasst die Leistungen der häuslichen und stationären Pflege.

Die Beiträge zur Pflegeversicherung werden direkt vom Bruttogehalt abgeführt. Sie betragen gemäß § 55 Abs. 1 SGB XI 2,55 % des beitragspflichtigen Einkommens (Stand Januar 2018). Die Höhe des jeweils hälftig zu tragenden Anteils für Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmer liegt bei rund 1,275 %.

Kinderlose Arbeitnehmer ab dem 23. Lebensjahr zahlen darüber hinaus einen Beitragszuschlag von 0,25 % des Bruttogehalts (§ 55 Abs. 3 SGB XI). Der Arbeitgeber meldet seinen Arbeitnehmer bei der jeweiligen Krankenkasse an, die dann die Meldung bei allen anderen Trägern der Sozialversicherung automatisch vornimmt.

Long-term care insurance

Living in Europe, Working in Europe | Entry conditions/visas, Health insurance, Medical care | Germany

The long-term care insurance ("Pflegeversicherung"), which is directly linked to and automatically taken out together with the health insurance cover, is part of the statutory social security contributions. The pertinent legislation can be found in Book XI of the German Social Code ("Sozialgesetzbuch"). Long-term care insurance helps people who are in need of care and dependent on other people's assistance. It covers domestic and in-patient care.

Contributions to the long-term care insurance are deducted at source from the employee's gross salary. Pursuant to § 55 para. 1 of SGB XI, they amount to 2.55% of the employee's income (as of January 2018). As a rule, the employer pays half the contributions for the long-term care insurance (currently 1,275%), the employee the other half.

Childless employees from the age of 23 pay a surcharge of 0.25% of their gross salary on top of this. (§ 55 para. 3 SGB XI). The employer registers the employee with the respective health insurance provider who then automatically forwards the registration to all the other social security providers.